Sélectionnez votre langue
  • Deutsch

    Sämtliche Inhalte auf der CPN-Website sind auf Englisch verfügbar. Einige Inhalte, wie z. B. Produktbeschreibungen, aktuelle Produkteinführungen und einige technische Artikel, sind ebenfalls auf Deutsch, Spanisch, Französisch, Italienisch und Niederländisch erhältlich. Wählen Sie in der Liste oben Ihre Sprache aus, damit sämtliche darin verfügbaren Inhalte automatisch entsprechend Ihrer Wahl dargestellt werden. Ansonsten wird als Standardsprache Englisch verwendet.

  • English

    All content published on the CPN website is available in English. Some content – such as product descriptions, recent product launches and some technical articles – is also available in German, Spanish, French, Italian and Dutch. Choose your language from the list above and all content that is available in your language will automatically be displayed in your language, otherwise the default language will be English.

  • Español

    Todo el contenido publicado en la página web de CPN está disponible en inglés. Parte del contenido –como descripciones de producto, lanzamientos recientes de productos y algunos artículos técnicos– también están disponibles en alemán, español, francés, italiano e holandés. Elija su idioma en la lista anterior y todo el contenido que esté disponible en su idioma aparecerá automáticamente en ese idioma, o , si no, en el idioma predeterminado que es el inglés.

  • Français

    Tout le contenu publié sur le site Web de CPN existe en anglais. Une partie du contenu (comme les descriptions de produit, les lancements récents de produit et certains articles techniques) est également publié en allemand, en espagnol, en français, en italien et en néerlandais. Choisissez la langue dans la liste ci-dessus, et tout le contenu offert dans votre langue s’affiche automatiquement ; par défaut, le reste s’affiche en anglais.

  • Italiano

    Tutti i contenuti pubblicati sul sito CPN sono disponibili in inglese. Alcuni contenuti come descrizioni di prodotto, lanci di prodotti recenti e alcuni articoli tecnici sono disponibili anche in tedesco, spagnolo, francese, italiano e olandese. Seleziona la lingua dall'elenco in alto e automaticamente si visualizzeranno tutti i contenuti disponibili in quella lingua; diversamente la lingua di default sarà l’inglese.

  • Nederlands

    Alle inhoud die op de CPN-website wordt gepubliceerd, is beschikbaar in het Engels. Bepaalde inhoud, zoals productbeschrijvingen, onlangs gelanceerde producten en sommige technische artikelen, zijn ook beschikbaar in het Duits, Spaans, Frans, Italiaans en Nederlands. Kies de taal uit bovenstaande lijst, waarna alle inhoud die beschikbaar is in de gewenste taal, automatisch in die taal wordt weergegeven. Anders is Engels de standaardtaal.

Appareils photo

PowerShot G16 : compact ultrarapide avec zoom 5×

PowerShot G16 : compact ultrarapide avec zoom 5×


Le Canon PowerShot G16 est un appareil photo compact ultrarapide doté d'un autofocus haute vitesse, d'un mode rafale en continu à 9,3 im./s*, d'un objectif lumineux f/1,8-2,8 avec zoom 5×, d'un Système Haute Sensibilité associant le tout dernier processeur DIGIC 6 et un capteur CMOS 12,1 millions de pixels, ainsi que de capacités d'enregistrement vidéo Full HD à 60 im./s.

À quel public s'adresse-t-il ?

Avec un contrôle manuel total des réglages d'exposition, un autofocus haute vitesse et une superbe qualité d'image conforme aux attentes les plus élevées, l'impressionnant PowerShot G16 intéressera les professionnels et amateurs expérimentés souhaitant maîtriser à la perfection leurs prises de vue et enregistrements vidéo.

Cet appareil met l'accent sur la rapidité. Objectif, autofocus, mode rafale, traitement et partage des images : toutes ces fonctions bénéficient d'une grande vitesse. Le G16 est un excellent choix pour les photographes souhaitant réaliser des clichés de haute qualité en basse lumière sans devoir transporter un reflex numérique encombrant ou s'équiper d'un deuxième appareil en complément d'un reflex numérique.

CARACTÉRISTIQUES PRINCIPALES


  • Objectif lumineux 28 mm f/1,8-2,8 avec zoom 5× ZoomPlus 10×
  • Système Haute Sensibilité : capteur CMOS 12,1 millions de pixels et processeur DIGIC 6 pour des images de qualité exceptionnelle, même à une sensibilité de 12.800 ISO
  • Stabilisateur d'image intelligent pour des images ultra-nettes, avec stabilisateur d'image dynamique optimisé à 5 axes pour des vidéos toujours nettes
  • Performances élevées avec mise au point automatique ultrarapide et prise de vue en continu à 9,3 im./s*
  • Grand écran LCD PureColor II G de 7,5 cm (3 pouces) ; viseur optique
  • Contrôle avancé : molette avant, contrôle manuel total et format RAW
  • Full HD à 60 im./s pour des vidéos plus fluides avec son stéréo et zoom optique
  • Partage avec une connexion Wi-Fi ; Image Sync pour faciliter les sauvegardes ; GPS via appareil mobile
  • Mode Étoile pour capturer les nuits étoilées ; Flou d'arrière-plan, HDR à main levée
  • Compatibilité avec une large gamme d'accessoires

* Prise de vue en rafale en continu : 12,2 im./s pour les 5 premières images, puis 9,3 im./s pour environ 522 images (selon le sujet), avec cartes mémoire SDHC/SDXC UHS Speed de classe 1 compatibles.

OBJECTIF ULTRALUMINEUX 28 MM F/1,8-2,8 AVEC ZOOM 5×

L'objectif de précision avec zoom 5× (28-140 mm) du PowerShot G16 est conçu pour s'associer parfaitement avec le capteur, pour une résolution et une qualité d'image élevées. Le zoom optique 5× fournit une polyvalence exceptionnelle, avec une ouverture de f/1,8 en grand-angle 28 mm, et une ouverture de f/2,8 à la focale maximale de 140 mm. Les photographes bénéficient de la possibilité de réaliser des prises de vue en basse lumière et d'utiliser des vitesses d'obturation rapides pour figer les mouvements sur toute la plage de focales de l'appareil.

La plage de focales du zoom optique 5× de l'objectif est idéale pour un grand nombre de conditions de prises de vue, des vastes paysages aux portraits en gros plan, et les capacités de zoom du PowerShot G16 peuvent être étendues jusqu'à 10× avec la fonction ZoomPlus.

DES RÉSULTATS PARFAITS GRÂCE AU SYSTÈME HAUTE SENSIBILITÉ AVEC DIGIC 6

Le Système Haute Sensibilité de Canon avec technologie DIGIC 6 excelle en basse lumière. Il capture l'atmosphère authentique sans flash ni trépied, avec un bruit d'image réduit. Ce système améliore également l'utilisation de la fonction Smart Auto de l'appareil, en lui permettant d'utiliser des sensibilités ISO plus élevées, et améliore la plage dynamique des images, en saisissant davantage de détails dans les scènes aux niveaux de luminosité très variables.

Le traitement avancé du processeur DIGIC 6 et le capteur CMOS haute sensibilité de 12,1 millions de pixels (type 1/1,7) garantissent une qualité d'image exceptionnelle en toutes circonstances, et ce jusqu'à 12.800 ISO.

PRISES DE VUE EN RAFALE ET AUTOFOCUS ULTRARAPIDES

Les photographes peuvent saisir l'action en une fraction de seconde en pleine résolution grâce à un fonctionnement extrêmement réactif, dont une prise de vue en rafale en continu à 9,3 im./s* digne d'un reflex numérique et une mise au point automatique ultrarapide en 0,1 s** qui permet de ne rater aucune photo. La vitesse d'autofocus du PowerShot G16 est supérieure de 41 % à celle de son prédécesseur, le G15, ce qui en fait le compact le plus rapide de la gamme Canon.

Remarques :
* Prise de vue en rafale en continu : 12,2 im./s pour les 5 premières images, puis 9,3 im./s pour environ 522 images (selon le sujet), avec cartes mémoire SDHC/SDXC UHS Speed de classe 1 compatibles.
** Mesures conformes à la nouvelle directive CIPA. Conditions : mode P, AF unique (AF central) avec un éclairage de 14 IL.

STABILISATEURS D'IMAGE INTELLIGENT ET DYNAMIQUE OPTIMISÉ, POUR DES IMAGES ET VIDÉOS ENCORE PLUS BELLES

En détectant en permanence le sujet et en adaptant le stabilisateur d'image optique à la scène selon 7 modes différents, le stabilisateur d'image intelligent réduit le flou de bougé, ce qui garantit des photos nettes et détaillées même au niveau de zoom maximal, en basse lumière ou lors d'un panoramique. Le mode de stabilisation d'image dynamique optimisée compense les mouvements de l'utilisateur sur cinq axes, ce qui garantit des vidéos incroyablement stables — idéal lorsque vous filmez à bord d'un véhicule en mouvement ou lorsque vous marchez.

CONTRÔLE MANUEL EXPERT

Les photographes bénéficient d'un contrôle manuel total sur le PowerShot G16, avec une molette de sélection supérieure à deux niveaux, une molette avant et des boutons vidéo et de raccourcis dédiés qui facilitent l'accès aux réglages de l'appareil entre deux clichés.

Doté de niveaux de commande manuelle semblables à ceux des reflex numériques Canon EOS, le PowerShot G16 permet de régler des paramètres tels que l'ouverture, la vitesse d'obturation, la balance des blancs et la sensibilité ISO. Les expositions peuvent être affinées avec +/-3 niveaux de correction d'exposition. Ces valeurs peuvent être définies manuellement par paliers de 1/3 via l'une des molettes de sélection supérieures de l'appareil.

La prise de vue au format RAW prend en charge les formats d'image multiples, ce qui multiplie les possibilités lors de la composition et de la retouche postproduction via le logiciel Digital Photo Professional fourni. L'ergonomie améliorée et le menu FUNC personnalisable permettent aux photographes d'adapter l'appareil à leur style.

VIDÉOS FULL HD AVANCÉES

Le PowerShot G16 inclut de nombreuses fonctions vidéo améliorées permettant d'enregistrer en Full HD à 60 im./s au format MP4, avec son stéréo et zoom optique. Utilisez les fonctionnalités avancées telles que le traitement vidéo ultradétaillé (60p) pour obtenir un niveau de détail élevé, sélectionnez le marquage de la mise au point (Focus Peaking) pour une mise au point manuelle plus facile, tirez parti des capacités de transcodage vidéo intégrées à l'appareil pour effectuer des transferts facilement et rapidement, et activez le filtre d'atténuation du bruit du vent pour être certain de capturer le son parfaitement.

GRAND ÉCRAN LCD DE 7,5 CM (3 POUCES) ET VISEUR OPTIQUE POUR UN AFFICHAGE CLAIR

Le grand écran LCD PureColor II G 922.000 points de 7,5 cm (3 pouces) du G16 offre une superbe qualité d'image et des couleurs précises. Il peut être visionné depuis un grand nombre d'angles différents, ce qui permet de l'utiliser même dans des conditions peu confortables, par exemple dans une foule. La fonction Quick Bright permet de passer instantanément à la luminosité maximale en cas de prises de vue réalisées dans des conditions de forte luminosité. L'écran LCD incorpore aussi un niveau électronique sur deux axes pour garantir des horizons droits dans les images.

Pour ceux qui préfèrent un style de composition plus classique, le viseur optique avec prise en compte du zoom et correction dioptrique du PowerShot G16 permet de visionner et de composer les prises de vue comme si l'on regardait à travers l'objectif.

CONNECTIVITÉ WIFI INTÉGRÉE

Avec la connectivité Wi-Fi intégrée du PowerShot G16, vous pouvez vous connecter facilement à un réseau domestique sans fil, une imprimante compatible, un ordinateur ou un appareil intelligent afin de partager vos images en ligne et de les géolocaliser. Vous pouvez également imprimer vos photos depuis le G16 sur une imprimante Canon PIXMA ou SELPHY via la connexion Wi-Fi.

La fonction GPS via appareil mobile permet de synchroniser toutes les images prises sur le G16 un jour donné avec les informations de localisation précises enregistrées sur un smartphone.

IMAGE SYNC POUR SIMPLIFIER LES SAUVEGARDES

Très pratique, la fonction Image Sync permet de sauvegarder rapidement les images dans le cloud ou sur un ordinateur. Elle détecte la méthode optimale pour sauvegarder les images via un réseau sans fil ou un ordinateur connecté à Internet. Une fois les images sélectionnées transférées sur CANON iMAGE GATEWAY, Flickr ou l'ordinateur, elles se synchronisent automatiquement, sans intervention de l'utilisateur.

MODE ÉTOILE POUR DES PRISES DE VUE CRÉATIVES LA NUIT

Grâce à la puissance de traitement du processeur DIGIC 6, le mode Étoile du PowerShot G16 permet d'immortaliser facilement les paysages étoilés. Le mode Étoile comporte trois réglages : Nuit étoilée est destiné aux photos de paysages sur fond étoilé, Traînée d'étoiles capture le déplacement des étoiles en assemblant plusieurs images en une seule photo composite et les Séquences vidéo Time-Lapse associent des photos prises à intervalles définis sur une période étendue pour créer de superbes vidéos. Les images ci-dessous ont été obtenues avec les réglages Nuit étoilée (gauche) et Traînée d'étoiles (droite).

FLOU D'ARRIÈRE-PLAN

Le filtre créatif Flou d'arrière-plan reproduit le bokeh des images prises à l'aide d'un reflex avec une grande ouverture de diaphragme. Il fonctionne en prenant deux clichés à la suite, l'un avec la mise au point effectuée et l'autre non, et en utilisant cette dernière image comme référence pour faciliter la composition créative. Les trois niveaux de flou proposés permettent de choisir précisément le niveau de flou des portraits et des gros plans.

CAPACITÉS HDR À MAIN LEVÉE

Le mode HDR est conçu pour capturer les zones sombres et les zones lumineuses d'une scène très contrastée. Grâce à la vitesse du processeur DIGIC 6, vous bénéficiez d'une plage dynamique élevée, sans trépied et sans fixer l'appareil sur une surface stable. Il capture une séquence continue d'images, puis les regroupe dans un seul fichier en minimisant le flou et en privilégiant l'exposition optimale afin de restituer au mieux la scène telle que vous l'avez vue. Vous avez ensuite le choix entre 5 effets de finition différents : Naturel, Peinture huile, Art Standard, Art éclatant et Art relief.

COMPATIBILITÉ AVEC DE NOMBREUX ACCESSOIRES

Le PowerShot G16 est compatible avec la bague d'adaptation pour objectif LA-DC58L, le téléconvertisseur 1,4× TC-DC58E, la bague d'adaptation pour filtre de 58 mm FA-DC58B et le boîtier étanche (jusqu'à 40 m de profondeur) WP-DC52. Cet appareil photo est également compatible avec la gamme de flashes Canon Speedlite.

PROCESSEUR DIGIC 6

La puissance de traitement supplémentaire du DIGIC 6 permet de capturer et de traiter les images plus rapidement que jamais. Il permet au PowerShot G16 d'enregistrer des images JPEG pleine résolution, en mode rafale à 12,2 im./s pour les 5 premières images, puis à 9,3 im./s pour 522 images environ*.

Le processeur DIGIC 6 accélère également la réactivité de l'appareil et offre des performances d'autofocus de 0,1 s** dignes d'un reflex numérique — autant de fonctions idéales pour ne rien perdre de l'action.

Les images JPEG traitées par le processeur DIGIC 6 contiennent jusqu'à 30 % de détails en plus par rapport au DIGIC 5 à une sensibilité de 3200 ISO.

* Le nombre total d'images dépend du sujet et suppose l'utilisation d'une carte mémoire SDHC/SDXC UHS Speed de classe 1 compatible.
** Mesures conformes à la nouvelle directive CIPA. Conditions : mode P, AF unique (AF central) avec un éclairage de 14 IL.

SYSTÈME HAUTE SENSIBILITÉ

Le Système Haute Sensibilité de Canon associe un capteur CMOS haute sensibilité et le processeur DIGIC 6. Le G16 tire parti de la puissance de traitement du DIGIC 6 pour réduire le bruit au minimum et améliorer considérablement la qualité de l'image, surtout dans les conditions de basse lumière. Il permet d'obtenir des photos et vidéos plus propres à des vitesses ISO élevées en comparaison avec le processeur DIGIC 5.

STABILISATEUR D'IMAGE INTELLIGENT AVEC STABILISATEUR D'IMAGE DYNAMIQUE OPTIMISÉ À 5 AXES

Le stabilisateur d'image intelligent représente la dernière avancée technologique de Canon en matière de stabilisation d'image. Il vous aide à obtenir des images nettes en réduisant le flou de bougé, pour des résultats parfaits même au niveau de zoom maximal ou en basse lumière. Le stabilisateur d'image intelligent détecte le sujet en permanence et adapte le stabilisateur d'image optique en fonction de la scène selon 7 modes différents : Normal, Panoramique, Macro, Motorisé, Dynamique et Macro, Trépied et Dynamique optimisé.

Le système de stabilisation d'image dynamique optimisé à 5 axes élimine efficacement le flou de bougé et les mouvements de l'utilisateur, ce qui garantit des vidéos incroyablement stables, fluides et nettes lors d'un enregistrement réalisé à bord d'un véhicule en mouvement ou en marchant.

FONCTIONS VIDÉO AVANCÉES

Les fonctions vidéo avancées du PowerShot G16 incluent le marquage de la mise au point (Focus Peaking), qui facilite la mise au point manuelle pour les utilisateurs plus aventureux. La zone la plus contrastée est mise en évidence à l'écran, de sorte que vous pouvez ajuster manuellement la mise au point afin d'obtenir des vidéos claires et nettes.

Le traitement vidéo ultradétaillé enregistre des vidéos Full HD à 60p qui donnent un résultat plus net et plus réaliste. Les vidéos Full HD et HD peuvent également être transcodées sur l'appareil en fichiers plus petits (réduction de 88 % maximum), afin de faciliter et d'accélérer leur partage via le Wi-Fi.

Les spécifications de produit ne sont actuellement pas disponibles.

Select your language
  • Deutsch

    Sämtliche Inhalte auf der CPN-Website sind auf Englisch verfügbar. Einige Inhalte, wie z. B. Produktbeschreibungen, aktuelle Produkteinführungen und einige technische Artikel, sind ebenfalls auf Deutsch, Spanisch, Französisch, Italienisch und Niederländisch erhältlich. Wählen Sie in der Liste oben Ihre Sprache aus, damit sämtliche darin verfügbaren Inhalte automatisch entsprechend Ihrer Wahl dargestellt werden. Ansonsten wird als Standardsprache Englisch verwendet.

  • English

    All content published on the CPN website is available in English. Some content – such as product descriptions, recent product launches and some technical articles – is also available in German, Spanish, French, Italian and Dutch. Choose your language from the list above and all content that is available in your language will automatically be displayed in your language, otherwise the default language will be English.

  • Español

    Todo el contenido publicado en la página web de CPN está disponible en inglés. Parte del contenido –como descripciones de producto, lanzamientos recientes de productos y algunos artículos técnicos– también están disponibles en alemán, español, francés, italiano e holandés. Elija su idioma en la lista anterior y todo el contenido que esté disponible en su idioma aparecerá automáticamente en ese idioma, o , si no, en el idioma predeterminado que es el inglés.

  • Français

    Tout le contenu publié sur le site Web de CPN existe en anglais. Une partie du contenu (comme les descriptions de produit, les lancements récents de produit et certains articles techniques) est également publié en allemand, en espagnol, en français, en italien et en néerlandais. Choisissez la langue dans la liste ci-dessus, et tout le contenu offert dans votre langue s’affiche automatiquement ; par défaut, le reste s’affiche en anglais.

  • Italiano

    Tutti i contenuti pubblicati sul sito CPN sono disponibili in inglese. Alcuni contenuti come descrizioni di prodotto, lanci di prodotti recenti e alcuni articoli tecnici sono disponibili anche in tedesco, spagnolo, francese, italiano e olandese. Seleziona la lingua dall'elenco in alto e automaticamente si visualizzeranno tutti i contenuti disponibili in quella lingua; diversamente la lingua di default sarà l’inglese.

  • Nederlands

    Alle inhoud die op de CPN-website wordt gepubliceerd, is beschikbaar in het Engels. Bepaalde inhoud, zoals productbeschrijvingen, onlangs gelanceerde producten en sommige technische artikelen, zijn ook beschikbaar in het Duits, Spaans, Frans, Italiaans en Nederlands. Kies de taal uit bovenstaande lijst, waarna alle inhoud die beschikbaar is in de gewenste taal, automatisch in die taal wordt weergegeven. Anders is Engels de standaardtaal.

Cameras

PowerShot G16:
a super-fast 5x zoom compact


The Canon PowerShot G16 is a super-fast compact camera which features a potent combination of high-speed AF, sustained continuous 9.3fps* shooting, a bright f/1.8-2.8 5x zoom lens, an HS system with the latest DIGIC 6 processor and a 12.1 Megapixel CMOS sensor, plus smooth Full HD movie shooting at 60fps.

Who is it for?

With full manual control over exposure settings, high speed AF, and the superb image quality that advanced photographers demand the impressively specified PowerShot G16 will appeal to professional photographers as well as to advanced amateur photographers who want control over their picture taking and movie making.

This camera is all about speed – fast lens, fast AF, fast continuous shooting, fast image processing and fast sharing of images. The G16 is a fantastic choice for photographers who are looking to capture high-quality images in low-light without having to carry a large SLR system in their kitbags, or as a superb second camera to accompany a DSLR.

KEY FEATURES


  • Bright f/1.8-2.8, 28mm, 5x zoom lens. 10x ZoomPlus.
  • HS System: 12.1 Megapixel CMOS, DIGIC 6 for stunning results up to ISO 12,800.
  • Intelligent IS for sharp shots with 5-axis Enhanced Dynamic IS for steady movies.
  • Super-fast performance with high speed AF and 9.3fps* sustained continuous shooting.
  • Large 7.5 cm (3.0”) PureColor II G LCD; optical viewfinder.
  • Expert control: Front Dial, Full Manual and RAW.
  • Full HD at 60fps for smoother movies in stereo with optical zoom.
  • Share with WiFi; Image Sync for effortless back up; GPS via mobile.
  • Star mode for stunning starry nightscapes; Background Defocus, handheld HDR.
  • Compatible with a wide range of accessories.

*Sustained continuous shooting – 12.2fps for the first 5 frames and then 9.3fps for approximately 522 frames (depending on shooting subject), using compatible SDHC/SDXC UHS Speed Class 1 memory cards.

INCREDIBLY BRIGHT F/1.8-2.8, 28MM, 5X ZOOM LENS

The PowerShot G16’s precision 5x (28-140mm) zoom lens is designed to combine perfectly with the sensor for high resolution and high image quality. Its 5x optical zoom provides outstanding versatility, offering an f/1.8 aperture at its 28mm wide-angle, and an f/2.8 aperture at its maximum 140mm focal length. This offers photographers extra freedom to shoot in low-light, use fast shutter speeds for freezing motion throughout the camera’s entire zoom range.

The lens’ 5x optical zoom range makes it ideal for a wide range of shooting conditions – from shooting wide landscapes to close-up portraits – and the zoom capabilities of the PowerShot G16 can be extended further to 10x via the camera’s ZoomPlus feature.

SUPERB IMAGE RESULTS FROM HS SYSTEM WITH DIGIC 6

Canon’s HS System with DIGIC 6 technology excels in low light, capturing the real atmosphere without flash or a tripod with reduced noise. The system also improves the usability of the camera’s Smart Auto feature by allowing it to use higher ISO settings and improves the dynamic range of pictures by capturing more detail in scenes with widely differing brightness levels.

Advanced DIGIC 6 processing and a high sensitivity 12.1 Megapixel CMOS sensor (1/1.7 type) combine to give exceptional image quality in all shooting situations at up to ISO 12,800.

SUPER-FAST CONTINUOUS SHOOTING AND AF

Photographers can freeze fast split second action in full resolution with super-responsive operation, which includes 9.3fps* sustained continuous shooting to rival DSLR performance and high-speed 0.1 sec autofocus** to ensure that no pictures are missed. The PowerShot G16’s AF speed is 41% quicker than its G15 predecessor and the fastest compact within the Canon range.

Notes:
*Sustained continuous shooting – 12.2fps for the first five frames and then 9.3fps for approx. 522 frames (depending on shooting subject), using compatible SDHC/SDXC UHS Speed Class 1 memory cards.
**Measurements conforming to new CIPA guideline. Conditions: P mode, Single AF (Centerpoint AF) under 14EV lighting.

INTELLIGENT IS AND ENHANCED DYNAMIC IS FOR BETTER IMAGES AND MOVIES

By constantly detecting your subject and adapting the optical Image Stabilizer to the scene, from seven available modes, Intelligent IS combats camera shake, so that photographs are sharp and detailed even at full zoom, in low light or when panning. The Enhanced Dynamic IS mode powerfully compensates for user movements over five axes to ensure that spectacularly steady movies can be captured, ideal when filming from a moving car, or when walking.

EXPERT MANUAL CONTROL

Photographers can take full manual control of the PowerShot G16 with the two-level top control dial, a Front dial and dedicated Movie Record and shortcut buttons – making it easy for users to access and adjust camera settings between shots.

Offering similar levels of manual control to those found on Canon EOS DSLRs, the PowerShot G16 allows photographers to adjust settings such as aperture, shutter speed, white balance and ISO sensitivity. Exposures can be fine tuned with +/-3 stops of exposure compensation; these values can be manually set in 1/3rd-stop increments via one of the camera’s top control dials.

RAW shooting includes multi-aspect support, allowing photographers to explore different aspect ratios in post-production editing using the supplied Digital Photo Professional software. Refined ergonomics and a customisable FUNC. menu allow photographers to tailor the camera to their shooting style.

ADVANCED FULL HD MOVIE SHOOTING

The PowerShot G16 includes a variety of improved movie features so filmmakers can record smooth Full HD movies at 60fps in MP4 format, with stereo sound and optical zoom. Use advanced features like Fine Detail Movie Processing (60p) for highly detailed footage, select Focus Peaking to aid manual focusing, utilise in-camera Movie Transcoding for quick and easy transfer and deploy the wind cut filter to ensure sounds are captured perfectly.

LARGE 7.5CM (3.0") LCD SCREEN AND OVF FOR CLEAR VIEWING

A large 7.5cm (3.0”) PureColor II G 922k-dot LCD screen on the back of the G16 offers superb image clarity and accurate colours and is capable of being viewed from wide angles for use in awkward angles or in crowds. A Quick-bright feature enables the monitor to immediately be switched to its maximum brightness when you are shooting in very bright conditions. The LCD screen also incorporates a Dual Axis electronic level for ensuring level horizons in your images.

For users preferring a more traditional style of composition, the PowerShot G16’s optical viewfinder with dioptre correction allows shots to be viewed and composed in a ‘through the lens’ style.

INTEGRATED WIFI CONNECTIVITY

Integrated WiFi connectivity in the PowerShot G16 lets you connect easily with home wireless networks, compatible printers and PCs, plus smart devices for easy online sharing and GPS tagging of your images with shooting locations. You can also print wirelessly with the G16 when using compatible Canon PIXMA and SELPHY WiFi-enabled printers.

The GPS via mobile feature can synchronise all of the images shot by the G16 on a particular day with the exact location information that has been recorded on a smartphone.

IMAGE SYNC FOR EASY IMAGE BACK-UP

Image Sync enables easy and convenient back up of images to cloud storage or your PC. It has the intelligence to detect the optimum method for image back-up via a wireless network or PC with internet access. Once user selected images are transferred on to either CANON iMAGE GATEWAY, Flickr or your computer, they will automatically synchronise without any user input.

STAR MODE FOR CREATIVE NIGHT SHOOTING

Using the increased processing power of the DIGIC 6 processor the PowerShot G16’s Star Mode lets you capture stunning starry nightscapes with ease. Star Mode offers a choice of three shooting settings: ‘Star Nightscape’ shoots landscapes against starry skies; ‘Star Trails’ captures the movement of the stars by combining multiple images into a single composite image; and ‘Star Time-Lapse Movie’ combines still images, taken at set time intervals over a long period, to create stunning movies. The images below show results achieved by the ‘Star Nightscape’ setting (left) and the ‘Star Trails’ setting (right).

BACKGROUND DEFOCUS

Background Defocus is a creative filter that mimics the bokeh from images taken by an SLR with a wide aperture lens. It works by taking two consecutive shots, one in focus and one out-of-focus and uses the out-of-focus image as a reference to aid creative composition. You can select from three different levels of background blur to achieve stunning portraits and close-up shots with the exact blurring effect you want.

HANDHELD HDR CAPABILITIES

HDR Mode lets photographers capture the dark shadows and bright highlights of a high contrast scene. Thanks to the speed of DIGIC 6, you can achieve HDR without using a tripod or fixing the camera on a steady surface. It captures a fast continuous sequence of shots, and then combines the data into a single file with the least possible blur and best possible exposure, for images closer to how you saw them. You can then also choose from five different finishing effects: Natural, Art Bold, Art Standard, Art Vivid and Art Embossed.

WIDE COMPATIBILITY WITH ACCESSORIES

The PowerShot G16 is compatible with the LA-DC58L Lens Adapter and the TC-DC58E 1.4x Tele Converter, the 58mm FA-DC58D Lens Filter Adapter and the WP-DC52 Waterproof case, which is waterproof to a depth of 40m. The camera is also compatible with Canon’s range of Speedlite flashes to further expand your picture taking possibilities.

DIGIC 6 PROCESSOR

The extra processing power of the DIGIC 6 processor allows data to be captured and processed faster than ever before. It enables the PowerShot G16 to capture full resolution JPEG images continuously at 12.2fps for the first five frames and then at 9.3fps sustained for approx. 522 frames*.

The DIGIC 6 processor also facilitates quick camera response and high speed 0.1 sec AF** to deliver a performance that rivals DSLRs and is perfect for capturing split second action.

JPEG images processed by the DIGIC 6 processor contain up to 30% more detail compared to DIGIC 5 at ISO 3200.

*Total number of frames varies depending on shooting subject, using compatible SDHC/SDXC UHS Speed Class 1 memory cards.
** Measurements conforming to new CIPA guideline. Conditions: P mode, Single AF (Centerpoint AF) under 14EV lighting.

HS SYSTEM

Canon’s HS system is a powerful combination of a high sensitivity CMOS sensor and advanced DIGIC 6 processing. The G16 uses the processing capabilities of the DIGIC 6 processor for advanced noise reduction to deliver exceptional improvements in image quality especially when shooting in low light. It delivers cleaner photographs and movies at high ISO speeds in comparison to the DIGIC 5 processor.

INTELLIGENT IS WITH 5-AXIS ENHANCED DYNAMIC IS

Intelligent IS is Canon’s latest unique image stabilisation technology which helps you to achieve sharp images and by combating camera shake, so photos are sharp and detailed even at full zoom or in low light. Intelligent IS constantly detects your subject and adapts the optical Image Stabilizer to the scene from seven available modes: Normal IS, Panning IS, Macro IS, Powered IS, Dynamic & Macro IS, Tripod Mode and Enhanced Dynamic IS.

A 5-axis Enhanced Dynamic IS system powerfully compensates for both hand-shake and user movements to ensure spectacularly steady, smooth and clear movies when filming from a moving a vehicle or walking.

ADVANCED MOVIE FEATURES

The advanced movie features of the PowerShot G16 include Focus Peaking, which aids manual focus for more adventurous moviemakers. It highlights the area of highest contrast on the camera screen so that you can make the right manual focus adjustments to ensure clear, sharp movies.

Fine Detail Movie Processing records Full HD 60p videos with more image detail for sharper and more realistic results. Full HD and HD movies can also be transcoded in-camera into smaller file sizes (up to 88%), for quicker and easier sharing via WiFi.

Technical product specifications are currently unavailable.